Captain’s log 2015

Grand_Turk(34)

Dear Diary,

From the Wikipedia entry for “logbook”:

“A logbook was originally a book for recording readings from the log, and is used to determine the distance a ship traveled within a certain amount of time. The readings of the log have been recorded in equal times to give the distance traveled with respect to a given start position.”

I kept a logbook for 2015.  At the end of each day, I wrote down what I did that day.  Now at the end of the year, it’s interesting to go back and read it. I did a lot. At the time, the things I did seemed small. But now looking over the whole of the year, I’m rather impressed with myself. I’m not as unproductive as I constantly imagine myself to be.  Instead of making New Years Resolutions for 2016 of all the things I WANT to do, I want to look back over 2015 to see what I actually DID. Here are some of my accomplishments over the past year:

  • I read 65 books!!
  • I walked/jogged over 2,800 miles this year.
  • I completed a creative writing certificate program.
  • I wrote every single day.
  • I traveled to Spain.
  • I got a new job.
  • I traveled to and performed in improv comedy festivals in Toronto and Vancouver, Canada.
  • I began co-hosting a  weekly radio show.
  • I hosted a live monthly storytelling show and television show.
  • I got to do an NPR StoryCorps.
  • I created and completed Denzember 2015 (https://decemberofdenzel.wordpress.com/)

I bought myself a new logbook for 2016 which I’m looking forward to beginning tomorrow.  Can’t wait to see what kind of shit I can get away with in 2016.

Happy New Year!

